Sleep is for Pussy Cats

Monkey is 9 1/2 months old.  Monkey doesn’t sleep through the night.  Other people think Monkey should be sleeping through the night because “9 1/2 month old babies should be sleeping through the night”, but Monkey doesn’t want to. Mama is tired. Mama has bags under her eyes. Mama is greying much faster now than ever before. Mama’s ready for other peoples to shut the hells up, but most importantly, Mama is ready for a good night sleep.

The Monkey sleeps

Hubby is in Florida shooting weddings, while I’m in NYC visiting my parents.  And though I came here partially so my parents could help me out with Monkey, they’re busy people, and no I’m not about to ask them to lend a hand at 4 am.  As I’ve stated before, I’m not one for letting her “cry it out”.  Not my thing.  Perfectly fine for others to do it, but it doesn’t work for me.  This, however, could possibly be the culprit in my lack of sleep.  So I’ve found a sort of middle ground since arriving in NY four days ago.  Here’s the new plan, while in my parents’ house, and with no help from Hubby:

  1. Nurse baby to sleep (yeah, yeah, yeah, I know it’s a bad idea)
  2. Put her in crib (careful, careful, or you gotta do the whole thing over again)
  3. Go to bed (maybe try to watch The Daily Show with the volume just high enough to hear Jon’s chuckles)
  4. When Monkey wakes 2-3 hours later, let her cry for 5 minutes (she was actually able to calm herself back to sleep a couple of times, YES!)
  5. If crying persists, taking Monkey into bed and feed her.  (STAY AWAKE.)  When Monkey falls back to sleep, return her to crib.  DO NOT LET HER STAY IN THE BED THE REST OF THE NIGHT.
  6. Do the same thing over again next time she wakes up.

But let’s throw a new variable into the mix: Monkey has a cold.

Sick and crying Halloween baby

Her yucky cold that she’s had since we arrived here on Halloween has not done wonders for her sleeping, as she coughs and sneezes herself awake frequently. But last night, though still desperately wanting to follow my 6-step plan, I had to give into the cold…

Steps 1-3 worked wonderfully.  I even got to talk to Hubby on the phone for a few minutes.  But at 2:30 am, the magic ended.  I allowed her to cry for five minutes, and every minute, or so, she’d wind down and it seemed as though she had drifted back to sleep.  But after an encouragingly long moment of silence came the bellowing: the howling sobs of a truly unhappy baby.  I went to her, knowing the plan was crumbling beneath my wobbling feet.

I picked her up and found that she had not only spat up all over her jammies, but her face was covered in snot.  It was the most pathetic sight I hadn’t imagined.

I carefully pulled off the jammies (trying oh so hard not to spread the white goo anywhere else!) and took a number of tissues to her face.  Once dried off, and now wearing only a diaper, I rolled up in the bed covers with her and waited patiently for her to fall back to sleep.  It took an hour and a half.  And it was wonderful.

Whatever plans I have for sleep-training, or whatever all the opinionated judgies have to say about how much a 9 1/2 month old should be sleeping, last night was when my Monkey was allowed to call the shots.

I held my little girl all night, and we kept each other warm.  That is, until I accidentally spilled cold water all over when I fell asleep with my glass on my stomach, but that’s for one of her therapy sessions in the future.

4 Responses to “Sleep is for Pussy Cats”


  1. 1 jaimeclewis November 4, 2010 at 6:26 pm

    Travel begins with Seabass in just under three weeks and I’ve been dreading it. Sigh. The things we do for these adorable little people.

  2. 2 Joshua "Mr. Annoying" K November 4, 2010 at 7:38 pm

    Ours didn’t sleep through the night for ages, either. Just remember the best friend a parent has at night: Baby Benadryl®


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers


