Self-Help Yourself Right into Your Career

I’ve been reading self-help books. There. I said it.

And you know what? I love them. Granted, I’m only on my second, but these two have already made a positive change in my life.

The Power of Your Subconscious Mind and The Power of Intention deal a lot with discovering the personal and financial abundance available in your life. Here’s an excerpt I read in The Power of Intention the other day on how to make your intention your reality:

Initiate actions that support your feelings of abundance and success:

  • Act on those passionate emotions as if the abundance and success you seek is already here.
  • Speak to strangers with passion in your voice.
  • Answer the telephone in an inspired way.
  • Do a job interview from the place of confidence and joy.
  • Read the books that mysteriously show up
  • Pay close attention to conversations that seem to indicate you’re being called to something new.
Yesterday, I overheard the voice of woman I couldn’t see. I was almost immediately able to put some pieces together of her physical makeup. Her voice sounded heavy, muted, and tired. I pictured a young, disheveled woman with a look that says “You don’t need to like me, cuz I don’t really like myself either”. Not to pat myself on the back, but I was right. Point is, we give off what we carry on ourselves. We put out what we put in.
When we were in Key West this spring, I was talking to someone who told me of a person who showed up to a job interview and said, “You don’t have to hire me. I don’t really know if I want to work here anyway”. This is, of course, an extreme example of the point I’m making, but you can give off that attitude to an interviewer, or a client, or a prospective job, the same way without actually using the literal words.
If I wear a garbage bag on a date with you, you’ll have reason to believe that I’m not interested in you enough that I’d put any effort in looking nice. If I go to a school dance and sit in the corner, you’ll have reason to believe I don’t really want to dance with you. If I speak to you as if I’m afraid of my own voice, you probably will be too (or at least put to sleep by it). And if I walk around all day believing that I’m never going to succeed at my career goals, I probably won’t.
But if I “dress” for success, I just might get it.
2 Responses to “Self-Help Yourself Right into Your Career”


  1. 1 Carolina Tarkowski December 14, 2011 at 9:32 am

    What i don’t understood is if truth be told how you are not actually a lot more well-preferred than you might be right now. You’re so intelligent. You know therefore significantly in terms of this subject, made me in my opinion believe it from numerous varied angles. Its like women and men don’t seem to be interested except it’s something to accomplish with Woman gaga! Your individual stuffs great. All the time handle it up!

  2. 2 visualization techniques meditation June 30, 2013 at 2:45 am

    My partner and I stumbled over here by a different website and thought I
    may as well check things out. I like what I see so i am just following you.

    Look forward to looking at your web page yet again.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers


